Delete your Pinterest Account Step-by-Step:
Social media has taken up a considerable portion of our daily lives. Now we hardly have the time to look around and cherish the creations of nature. Not only from a poetic point of view but in terms of productivity as well, social media platforms are causing more trouble than good. Of course, we understand it doesn’t necessarily depend on these platforms whether our personal life would be hampered or not. After all, the creators of such social websites like Pinterest and Facebook didn’t intend to create distractions in our lives. In fact, the soul motto behind the introduction of such platforms was to facilitate a better social environment where people can interact with each other without any complications. It was also intended to make the world a smaller place.
Social Media causes distractions
Just like any other aspect of our lives, things didn’t go as perfectly as the creators of social media wanted it to be. Of course, in many ways, such social platforms have managed to support social conversations. People from one part of the world can easily express their feelings and communicate their thoughts with his or her virtual friend sitting in the opposite portion of the planet. It’s worth mentioning that the advent of social media has sincerely benefitted the world by taking the concept of convergence to an entirely new level. Now the question arises if that has anything to do with increased productivity. In many ways, the reality is exactly the opposite. Distractions are increasing more than ever. We are spending most of our valuable daytime surfing the news feed and pin boards instead of doing what matters the most; work.
Deleting your Pinterest Account
Even a few years ago, the process of Pinterest account deletion was not as easy as it is today. Now that the social media platform’s authorities have introduced an easier way of account deletion, people interested to delete their Pinterest accounts permanently, like you can do so without much hassle. However, there’s a catch to this entire procedure. Even a few years ago, Pinterest didn’t support the permanent deletion of user accounts. Instead, it allowed its users to leave their platform for a definitive period of time or until he/she chooses to come back to the social media platform. However, today you have full freedom to permanently close your account and the steps to do so is relatively simple than many other similar websites.
Step by step process of permanently deleting your Pinterest account
- Launch your Pinterest application in your Smartphone
- At the bottom of the app window, you would see a few icons. Look out for the profile icon on the right-most bottom corner of your screen. Click on that option.
- Now that you have landed on the profile page, here you would be able to see a gear icon on the top right corner of your screen. Click on that icon to reach the settings page.
- In the settings page, you would see multiple options related to your profile. You need to choose the ‘Edit Settings’ option, which is the second option on the page. Click on that option.
- Now you will land on the Edit Setting page. Here you need to scroll down to the bottom of the page, where you would find options related to your account deletion.
- There are two options: ‘Deactivate Account’ and ‘Close Account’. In case you choose to deactivate your account, your pins and profile wouldn’t be visible to others. However, they might send you messages through their inbox. In this scenario, you can always opt for making a comeback to the platform. Whereas if you permanently close your account, you cannot get back all of your pins and boards that you had shared for so long. Choose wisely.
- Now that you have decided to permanently delete your Pinterest account, you can click on the ‘Close Account’. Once you choose ‘Close Account’, Pinterest would send you an email, which would ask you to confirm your request of account deletion.
- Now you need to open your email ID and look for the confirmation email from Pinterest. Once you confirm the action, your account will be successfully deleted.
- Once you successfully delete your account, you will have a period of 2 weeks to reconsider your decision. Within this period, you can choose to reactivate your account and restart your Pinterest journey. However, if you choose not to come back on the platform, the profile will be permanently removed from the Pinterest ecosystem.
Final things to consider: Everything about your data